A Summer Night’s Prayer

Just a cool dry breeze

to blow my way;

lifting off the heat of day.

And a clear night sky,

for stars to shine;

that would just be so divine.

The sound of crickets

in the fields;

to which all other sounds do yield.

Except for the owl

perched in the tree;

because it’s sound does comfort me.

And may pleasant dreams

fill my head;

as I rest here upon my bed.

This dear Lord I do pray

be so for this Summer’s night;

and may you wake me in the morning light.

Copyright 2011 Nancy M. Ericsson

Leave a Reply

